Posted by: feralfish | April 28, 2008

If thy right hand offend thee, cut it off…

My goal was to get the job done with no hope of reconstruction or re-attachment, and I wanted some method that I could actually bring myself to do. I did experiments with animal legs I got from a butcher. It’s lucky I thought of that, because some of my early attempts were total fuck ups and would have ended up with a damaged hand which might have had to undergo years of painful reconstruction, and worse yet, no amputation.

Body Integrity Identity Disorder is a condition where a person has the desire to amputate one or more of their healthy limbs. It’s one of those things that, not having it, is a little difficult to wrap your mind around. More so the fact that although some of the sufferers are willing to “fake” being an amputee with prosthetics and other equipment others actually cut off completely healthy limbs. This interview on the Body Mod Ezine site is with one such person. “Jason” faked an accident in order to get rid of his offending right hand and has been pretty happy with the results. A little strange, but I guess if the guy is happy, healthy, and not causing anyone any trouble then more power too him.

Link to the article.
via: Wrongorama

Share It!
Responses

  1. […] agenda, but I like some of their people and sometimes “If thy right hand offend thee, cut it off.” (What’s the other saying? “Cut off your nose to spite your […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

