Posted by: feralfish | February 21, 2008

Uh oh, time for a relapse…

Joo call me?

I am surrounded by swirling light. The world around me changes from the drab grays of the salt flats to a shimmering orange. The change lasts only a second, but it’s real. I feel stronger. Power runs through my veins, sparking up and down my arms, sparking from my outstretched fingertips. I open and close my left hand a few times, testing the tendons. I run my right hand through the mane of AngryBoy. The bear shakes his head, purring with a bass that shakes the hardpan. I feel it through my feet.

It’s going to be a good night. But I am alone. I call to the heavens, invoking the mysteries.

“Ding 32,” I howl, a barbaric yawp. I wait for the acknowledgment, the nod from god that confirms my presence, my importance, my existence.

It comes.

“Gratz.”

God damn it. I’ve gone many many months without logging into WOW but that little start of an article from Gamers With Jobs got me all nostalgic for good old Azeroth. Problem is, I don’t really know anyone who plays anymore and whenever I do find someone they are WAY more hardcore than I am about it. Hell, I never got a single character to 60. I’m always way too busy collecting chickens, pirate wear, and things like that. I really like the low level game, just running around and experiencing minor victories, finding little treasures…all the giant war axes of anal rape and monotonous dungeon crawling for hours aren’t really my bag. I like my WOW in short bursts with as little frustration as possible. Oh well, maybe a little fall off the wagon tomorrow, if time permits…

Thanks a lot Gamers With Jobs.

Responses

  1. I stayed clean for about 5 or 6 months. Then I fell off the wagon… But here’s my key to keeping it in moderation:

    I started a new char on a new realm, away from my 70 and my guild and my “responsibilities” of being a “Guild Lord.”

    On my new server, who cares if I log on? Nobody is waiting on me to DPS for Crypts or run them through the Dreadsteed quest…

    Works for me!

  2. @Scottie
    I’ve always been a pretty solo wowist. I’ve joined a guild or two but like you said, it’s far too restrictive. I want to play a game, not work a job. The only thing that intrigues me about end game content is that I love stabbing giant things. Nothing beats poking a behemoth with my little knives until it falls down so that I can crouch over it’s head for a tea bag, signifying ultimate victory in the name of The Horde.


Leave a Reply

Categories

